16 Oct '13

A Nix Review – Midnight Lies by Ella Grace (2.5 Stars)

Posted in Uncategorized / 0 Comments

The Wilde sisters of Midnight return in this thrilling novel of romantic suspense, perfect for fans of Maya Banks, Allison Brennan, and Lori Foster.

IT’S ALWAYS HOTTER AT MIDNIGHT.

The winds of fate have blown cruelly on a family that once had it all: money, power, prestige. The lives of three beautiful daughters were forever changed when, on a sultry night in Midnight, Alabama, a murder-suicide shattered the Wilde family. The girls grew up to live separate lives but now have returned home, each to face a danger no one can see coming.

Former homecoming queen Samantha surprised everyone by going into law enforcement, but beneath her tough façade lies a wary heart. The tragedy that struck her family is an ever-present reminder that nothing is ever as it seems. When the man she loves, Quinn Braddock, a doctor and Iraq war veteran, is accused of murder, Samantha assumes the worst. Brokenhearted, her confidence shattered, she returns to Midnight. Though exonerated, Quinn still feels the sting of Samantha’s doubt, but he can’t forget his feelings for her and follows her. Soon after his arrival, a shocking murder terrifies the town, and once again, Quinn is under suspicion. This time, Samantha will not turn her back on the man she loves—even if it means walking into a killer’s trap.

FTC : This book was requested as I really wanted to read it after the first one. I have no relationship with the author.
I loved the first in the series and was so eager to read this one. Unfortunately, there wasn’t really that much in it that grabbed and kept my attention. The premise promised so much but the finished article was rather forgettable. I was really disappointed.
Quinn and Sam are in a relationship when his ex-wife gets brutally murdered. I say a relationship but it really is anonymous sex masquerading as a relationship. They knew bugger all about each other and so I didn’t believe there was the depth of emotion between them that would explain all the actions that happened next. When he becomes suspect number one, she moves hell and earth to help clear him but he judges her on the one moment of indecision that he sees regarding his innocence. Quinn did not endear himself towards me as a reader. To be fair, she didn’t tell him she believed him and allowed him to believe she had abandoned him in his time of need. He treated her as she allowed him to and this is the common theme of the book that annoyed me; he kept on stomping all over her and not once did she properly stand up for herself.  

My problem is that, if I don’t like the supposedly likeable characters in the book, I won’t like the story. I couldn’t invest in it because these characters pushed my trigger buttons. I could have dealt with his character if I saw her rail at him or call him on his attitude, but I didn’t. I know that I like this authors writing but I just didn’t like this book. I will read the next one as that sister intrigues me. Hopefully, she will be a character that I get on board with. 


Nix

Leave a Comment