28 Nov '13

Nix Review – Dragos Takes a Holiday by Thea Harrison (5 Stars)

Posted in 5 Stars, PNR / 3 Comments

The Bermuda Triangle.Pirates. The Peanut. What could possibly go wrong?

Dragos Cuelebre needs a vacation. So does Pia, his mate. When the First Family of the Wyr head to Bermuda for some much needed
R&R, it’s no ordinary undertaking – and no ordinary weekend in the sun.Between hunting for ancient treasure buried beneath the waves and keeping track of their son, Liam—a.k.a. Peanut, whose Wyr abilities are manifesting far ahead of schedule—it’s a miracle that Pia and Dragos can get any time together.They’re determined to make the most of each moment, no matter who tries to get in their way.

And did we mention pirates?

For fans of DRAGON BOUND and LORD’S FALL,
passion, playfulness, and adventure abound in this Elder Races novella.

 
FTC : I adore this series. I requested this book in exchange for a fair and honest review only.
 
This is a short story set after Kinked. It is a stand-alone so none of the happenings have much of an impact on the rest of the series although it is wise to have at least an inkling of what is going on after book one as there will be spoilers.
 
 This is an absolutely adorable snippet of family life for Dragos, Pia and Liam. I adored seeing Dragos as both a father and a husband in this holiday tale. He has a calm and level head but woe betide those who mess with his family. In this, we start to see how he can use those years as being head of the Wyr to protect those that he loves. It should have been a bit creepy but instead it was ridiculously sexy. Pia is still adjusting to life as wife of the ruler of the Wyr and we see her try to be a mother to a baby dragon alongside trying to show Dragos how to share his life. I loved Pia in the first book and she doesn’t disappoint here either. The way she manipulates Dragos into taking a holiday made me laugh so hard… I need more Pia books please.
 
The best thing about this book is the scenes from Liam’s POV for me. I liked seeing the baby dragon discover his powers and get into lots of trouble because of them! I feel Liam will be an interesting character to see grow up throughout the series; who
knows what he will get up to in his teenaged years!
 
Overall, this was a cute and
fun addition to a series that is autobuy for me. If you want to see more stompy
Dragos, sassy Pia and some cute baby dragon, pick this one up on release day.
 
 

 

  

Nix

3 Responses to “Nix Review – Dragos Takes a Holiday by Thea Harrison (5 Stars)”

  1. I’m delighted to see that DTAH is a 5-star read for you. I have it slated as my next purchase, and I can’t wait. No way to get enough of the Elderworld shifters for me.

    Your new site looks fabulous. Love the color scheme, the loading speed and navigate-ability.
    Are you going to have your Blog Roll and Goodread quotes on this site too? I can’t tell you how many books I bought after finding quotes that intrigued me here on Scorching Book Reviews. Plus, SBR has been where I found leads to other book blogs that I now follow regularly. You’re tops!

    • Thank you 🙂 It is a shortie but so cute.

      I will be adding the quotes and blogroll…it’s all coming soon!

      • Just finished D. Takes a Holiday, and it was as delightful as you said. There’s just something about having a huge, powerful and dominant character capable of such tenderness. And oh, what a fiction future Peanut Liam has. I dearly hope Thea Harrison will keep treating us. I love that the characters keep discovering new powers as they evolve.

Leave a Reply

(will not be published)