New Romance Book Releases 10th – 16th August 2020 : Nix’s Top Picks from the books published this week.

Posted August 9, 2020 by Nix in Top Picks / 1 Comment

Top Picks is a weekly meme that I do here at Scorching Book Reviews.

In this post, I highlight the Romance books that I want to read that are released this week. I have been lazy of late with not going past Tuesday – that has changed and I now look for books up to Sunday.

They are all books on my TR pile and only books I am interested in spending money on. I do not ask people to recommend books or highlight releases for author promo. I research each book before it I put it on here to look for reviews, series connections and author bio.

I feel I have to point out that books in a series are only going to be featured on here if I have started the series or am interested in doing so.

I don’t read NA. I do not read reverse harem. I also do not read Pandemic romance.

I also don’t recommend books from authors who have engaged in awful behaviour or have bigotted views – I chose not to give them my money so you won’t find them on here. If I make a mistake and feature an author who is an awful person, tell me in the comments and the book will be removed.

I have made the decision to add amazon links and links to twitter profiles on this post however they are not affiliant links as I CBA with amazon.

Magical Midlife Madness (Leveling Up #1)Release date : Tuesday 11th August 2020

Price (UK £) – Kindle Unlimited book or £3.99

Amazon Link : HERE

Status on the TR list : I have just put book one on my Kindle – I have loved several series by KF Breene so I know I like the author’s work. This one sounds so different and like so much fun.

She must learn to fly, but can she withstand the allure of the handsome new teacher?

Book two in the Top 10 Kindle Store and internationally bestselling series by USA Today Bestselling Author, K.F. Breene!

The decision has been made. Jessie has taken the magic, and all the weird that goes with it. Including wings.

There’s only one problem – she can’t figure out how to access them.

Through a series of terrible decisions, Jessie realizes she must ask for help. Gargoyle help.

But she could’ve never predicted who answers her call – he’s an excellent flier, incredibly patient, and a good trainer. He’s also incredibly handsome. And interested.

Maybe flying isn’t the only thing she needs help with. Maybe she needs help getting back on that saddle, too, emerging into the dating pool.

Except, the new gargoyle is also an alpha, just like Austin, and the town isn’t big enough for two.

Turns out, flying is the least of her problems.

Kiss My Cupcake

Release date : Tuesday 11th August 2020

Price (UK £) – £5.99

Amazon Link : HERE

Status on the TR list : I have only read a couple of Helen Hunting’s books but I have enjoyed them. I am an absolute sucker for cooking romances though so this has gone on my eReader watch-list and the TR pile. UK readers, it has a different cover to the one pictured.

As two neighborhood shop owners battle for business, they prove opposites attract in this outrageously funny romantic comedy from the USA Today bestselling author of Meet Cute.

Blaire Calloway has planned every Instagram-worthy moment of her cupcake and cocktails shop launch down to the tiniest detail. What she didn’t plan on? Ronan Knight and his old-school sports bar next door opening on the very same day. He may be super swoony, but Blaire hasn’t spent years obsessing over buttercream and bourbon to have him ruin her chance at success.

From axe throwing (his place) to frosting contests (hers), Blaire and Ronan are constantly trying to one-up each other in a battle to win new customers. But with every clash, there’s also an undeniable chemistry. When an even bigger threat to their business comes to town, they’re forced to call a temporary time-out on their own war and work together. And the more time Blaire spends getting to know the real Ronan, the more she wonders if it’s possible to have her cupcake and eat it too.

Praise for Helena Hunting

‘Delicious romantic comedy . . . Light and fluffy with the perfect balance of sweetness and spice, this is a winning confection’ Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Roux The Dae: The Charmed Cookbook Series Book 1 by [Dahlia  Rose ]

Release date : Saturday 15th August 2020

Price (UK £) – £3.17

Amazon Link : HERE

Status on the TR list : I haven’t read this author before however she has a HUGE backlist. I’m an absolute sucker for a chef romance … I’ve marked this as TR and I will be looking at some reviews.

Summer cookoff time! Dae Shaw was going to enter this year and she would be bringing the fire with her Granny Fran’s super-secret cookbook recipes. Grannie Fran didn’t mention that the cookbook passed down through the family was charmed. At the cook off, everyone wanted a taste, and the consequences, started with flowers, then cards and unwanted advances rolling in. The drop-dead sexy Councilman, Shawn Kingsley was one of the judges at the cookout and he’s one of her suitors. Dae isn’t to upset about that at all.

But when her nemesis Jane Moore whose food reflected her personality… nasty accuses her of cheating for one and stealing the man of her dream in the councilman. Dae was over it all and was ready to give everyone that damn antidote. But what if all of Shawn’s sweet kisses and caresses were all because of a spell and not because of her? Dae needed to see the truth even if it meant the heart between them would fizzle. She only hoped the cookbook had a recipe for curing a broken heart.

Khalid: Book 3 in The Brothers Ali by [Celeste Granger]

Release date : Tuesday 11th August 2020

Price (UK £) – Free on Kindle Unlimited or £4.99

Amazon Link : HERE

Status on the TR list : LOVE this series –  I have marked this as TR and I will be putting it in my KU queue. Enemies to Lovers is a trope that I ADORE!

Racquel Alexander, Owner of Charles’ Barber Experience, is consumed with extending her father’s legacy by expanding the Barber Experience into new markets. Losing her father changed Racquel’s worldview, narrowing her focus to only those things that help her father live on and not just in her memory.

Khalid Ali, Director of Investments for Ali International is all about the business of conquering new territories, investing in new ventures, and expanding his family’s legacy. He is persistent, determined, and focused.

A thunderstorm, a flat tire, and a knight in shining armor coming to save her changes the course of Racquel’s existence, but not in a good way. That accidental encounter brings her nemesis, Khalid Ali, into her orbit, rocking Racquel’s foundation and disturbing every preconceived notion she ever had of him. Holding on to old things is easy. Accepting new things is hard. Khalid dares Racquel to accept new things like how his nearness compels her soul to swoon and her heart to thunder in her chest; and how their undeniable magnetism seismically shifts the atmosphere and causes the earth to quake under their feet.

When enemies become lovers, it’s tumultuous and passionate and confusing and incredible. When enemies fall in love, it’s unpredictable.

Strictly Come Dating (The Kathryn Freeman Romcom Collection, Book 3) by [Kathryn Freeman]

Release date : Saturday 15th August 2020

Price (UK £) – £1.99

Amazon Link : HERE

Status on the TR list : I am a fan of strictly and this author seems to have a reputation for being funny … on the list!

Fun, feel-good and a must read for fans of Strictly Come Dancing!

Saturday nights are strictly for dancing… 

As the glitter ball shimmers and sequins flash, forty-year-old Maggie remembers the pull of the dancefloor.  But now, as a newly divorced mum of two, Maggie’s certain her dancing days are over.  Or are they…?

Encouraged by her friends, Maggie dusts off her silver stilettoes and enrols for dancing classes, all she needs now is the perfect partner.

Enter Seb.  Young, carefree and hot as hell, Seb is definitely a perfect 10!  Even though everything about him is outrageously inappropriate! But as Seb sweeps her across the dancefloor every week, Maggie begins to see a new side to him; kind, caring, funny, strong.

And Maggie realises that he’s the only one she’d like to foxtrot with…perhaps even forever?

She's A Luna: Oak Fast Fated Mates Book 2 by [Rebel  Carter]

Release date : Tuesday 11th August 2020

Price (UK £) – Kindle Unlimited or £2.29

Amazon Link : HERE

Status on the TR list : I have heard nothing but good things about this author but I have never read anything by her. I have put book one on my KU list (bear shifters!!!) and then I will be picking up this if I like it.

The better to see you. Smell you. The better to eat you…

Bea Ortega has a great life. She’s smart and loyal, has a job she loves, can mostly run a marathon without dying, plus a pretty great set of friends she adores. She’s even nailed the fine art of magical charms, but do you know what Bea doesn’t have?

An anchor.

Her best friends are finding fated mates, making families, finding their direction in life, and Bea? Bea feels like she’s drowning. More than that, she feels like she’s being left behind. But like an answer to a prayer, her mate, Pierce Moon Claw, comes calling. Except, that where Bea thought mates should be good and kind. You know, the kind that make you feel warm, fuzzy, and safe, Pierce turns out to be anything but.

Because Bea’s mate is a wolf, and everyone knows wolves cannot be trusted.

Things get trickier when Bea realizes she isn’t just half of a fated mate-pair, she’s a Luna—a Luna to a whole pack.

What happens when Bea finds out that she isn’t just getting a mate, but a new way of life? And how about when she realizes her new pack are all that stand between the town of Oak Fast and an all-out shifter war?

Find out both in the second book of the Oak Fast Fated Mates Series! This a magical and sigh-worthy PNR shifter romance set in a small town with plenty of found family vibes, smart-mouthed heroines, magical realism, and cinnamon roll heroes.

*This is a novella of approx 36k words*

Foxy Lady: A Fur-Ever Veterinary Romance by [Cara Malone]

Release date : Tuesday 11th August 2020

Price (UK £) – Kindle Unlimited or £3.97

Amazon Link : HERE

Status on the TR list : I have book one of this on my KU queue – I am a sucker for a vet romance ….

Foxes make terrible pets but they’re fantastic wingmen.

Sydney Young has dedicated her life to animals. She’s a wildlife rehabilitator on call around the clock for rescue missions all over the state and every last one of her friends are veterinarians. Waiting at home for her is a rambunctious fox too tame to be released.

Syd’s life is full and happy… or so she thinks until a new and exotic creature moves in next door.

Adelaide Mercer is single-minded too – all her time and energy goes into her young son, Liam, making sure he’s happy in their new home. She’s fiercely protective and guarded, keeping to herself despite her curiosity about the elusive neighbor with the fox pen in her back yard.

Syd and Addie observe each other from a distance until one day Liam springs the fox from its pen. The wild fox chase that follows is only the beginning of a great adventure in life, love and rescued hearts.

The Roommate Problem (Mile High Happiness Book 3) by [Mariah Ankenman]

Release date : Monday 10th August 2020

Price (UK £) – Kindle Unlimited or £3.85

Amazon Link : HERE

Status on the TR list : Forced proximately romance is always a big hit with me … this one looks as cute as anything! I don’t have any experience of the author but I have marked is as TR.

To Moira “Mo” Rossi, the world is full of sunshine, goodness, and happily ever afters—so of course she figures finding the perfect roomie will be easy. But after four creepos who ask if benefits come with the room and one woman who claims she’s a vampire, Mo is officially desperate. So what if the guy she agrees to on paper ends up being the Derrick Downer to her Sally Sunshine in person? She’s the queen of making lemonade.

August Porter expected his new roommate Mo to be like him—neat, practical, and oh yeah: male. Not the outrageous hippie with more stars in her eyes than there are in the sky. She’s infuriating, exasperating, his exact opposite in every possible way…and the bright ray of sunshine he didn’t even realize his gray world was missing. Suddenly, falling into bed with his roommate isn’t the worst idea he’s ever heard. Just falling in love with her is.

But one of them is keeping a secret that could turn their opposite attraction into utter disaster.

Love Song: An LA Rock Star Romance by [Elle Greco]

Release date : Monday 10th August 2020

Price (UK £) – Kindle Unlimited or £3.09

Amazon Link : HERE

Status on the TR list : How wonderful is this cover? And how attention grabbing is the blurb? This is on my KU queue.

Jett Benson is having a bad week.

To start, she was kicked out of her soon to be ex-stepfather’s Bel Air mansion. Then, UCLA gave her the boot because of an unpaid tuition bill. Finally, her crappy car just broke down in Venice Beach, and she doesn’t have the money to fix it.

And that’s just Monday.

Jett needs a job. And fast. But with her car out of commission and a resume that screams unemployable, she has no choice but to crash on her ex-stepbrother Rafe’s couch until she gets back on her feet.

Once mortal enemies, a bond grew between Jett and Rafe when their bands toured together. It’s a bond that Jett’s trying to avoid before it morphs into something more. And that something more could break her heart, because Rafe’s left a path of shattered ones in his wake.

Rafe Davis was adopted into rock and roll royalty. When his own father, guitar player for legendary rock band Anthem, fell victim to the cut-throat music industry, Rafe was enveloped by the Davis clan. Now, like his dad, Rafe is a guitar player, but for Rogue Nation, a band whose debut album is following Anthem’s meteoric trajectory. But Rafe is determined not to repeat history, even if that means guarding his heart from the one person who believes in him.

So Jett needs to find a J-O-B and get off Rafe’s couch before she climbs into his bed. Because for both of them, falling in love is not an option.

Love Song is the second book in the LA Rock Star Romance series. Set in the glam and gritty Los Angeles rock scene, the series is filled with swoon-worthy men and badass women, all chasing their dreams in Hollywood’s cut-throat music industry.

Fall in love with an LA Rock Star.

Moon Fever (The S. P. E. A. R. Mission Files Book 2) by [Ileandra Young]Release date : Tuesday 11th August 2020Price (UK £) – £8.99

Amazon Link : HERE

Status on the TR list : This sounds amazing. It was not marked as romance on NetGalley (was Erotica??) but on further investigation it is UF. The only reason this is on the maybe list is the price – the reviews are fabulous but £8.99 is too steep.

Danika Karson, recently promoted team leader within the Supernatural Prohibition, Extermination, and Arrest Regiment (SPEAR), is tasked with containing a new pack of werewolves who have entered Angbec and staked their claim with violence and brutality. Their ferocious rampage not only endangers humans but falsely implicates Wensleydale Gordan, dear friend and alpha of the smaller, more vulnerable Dire Wolf pack.

With such powerful adversaries, Danika must again enlist the help of Rayne: girlfriend, fellow agent, and powerful vampire. Unfortunately, Rayne has more personal matters on her mind. The full moon approaches, and with it, supernatural compulsions that threaten to consume Rayne and Danika in a wave of passion and blood.

Wolves fight for supremacy, Rayne struggles for control, and Danika wants nothing more than to save them all. But when the full moon rises, can she win against the moon fever?

One response to “New Romance Book Releases 10th – 16th August 2020 : Nix’s Top Picks from the books published this week.

We like comments