New Romance Releases 30th Aug-6th Sept 2020 : Nix’s Top Picks.

Posted August 30, 2020 by Nix in Top Picks / 0 Comments

Top Picks is a weekly meme that I do here at Scorching Book Reviews.

In this post, I highlight the Romance books that I want to read that are released this week. I have been lazy of late with not going past Tuesday – that has changed and I now look for books up to Sunday.

They are all books on my TR pile and only books I am interested in spending money on. I do not ask people to recommend books or highlight releases for author promo. I research each book before it I put it on here to look for reviews, series connections and author bio.

I feel I have to point out that books in a series are only going to be featured on here if I have started the series or am interested in doing so.

I don’t read NA. I do not read reverse harem. I also do not read Pandemic romance.

I also don’t recommend books from authors who have engaged in awful behaviour or have bigotted views – I chose not to give them my money so you won’t find them on here. If I make a mistake and feature an author who is an awful person, tell me in the comments and the book will be removed.

I have made the decision to add amazon links and links to twitter profiles on this post however they are not affiliant links as I CBA with amazon.

With Love At Christmas: Her Festive Flirtation / From Venice with Love / Callie's Christmas Wish by [Therese Beharrie, Alison Roberts, Merline Lovelace]

Release date : Thursday 3rd September 2020

Price (UK £) – £5.99

Amazon Link : HERE

Status on the TR list : I read a book by Theres Beharrie last week and I loved it. I also love Xmas books – this is the top of the list.

A Christmas surprise

A year after being jilted, Ava Keller finds herself as bridesmaid at a beautiful Cape Town wedding. Best man — and Ava’s first crush — Noah Giles is the perfect distraction from her painful memories. But their flirtation turns serious when Ava’s feelings for him resurface! Will their chemistry get a second chance?

Dr Charlotte Highton has fulfilled her grandmother’s dream of a trip to Venice. But how can she fulfil her final wish—to see Charlotte walk down the aisle? But, in the narrow streets of Venice adorned with twinkling Christmas lights, Charlotte bumps into delectable ex-colleague Dr Nico Moretti and he drops down onto one knee…

Callie Langston wished to be swept off her feet and she was. Joe Russo is everything she’s wished for and more. But Callie’s waited her whole life to live and heads off on a Christmas adventure. Among the timeless beauty of Christmas in Rome, she’s got to decide: Will it be the plan…or the man

The Circle Eight: Matthew by [Emma Lang]

Release date : Tuesday 1st September 2020

Price (UK £) – £0.76

Amazon Link : HERE

Status on the TR list : I adore this series and I have for YEARS. On the list.

A man desperate to save his family. A woman desperate to have a family. Together they will fight to save the Circle Eight.

In the wake of his parents’ murder, Matthew Graham must take the reins at the Circle Eight. With one missing brother, and six other siblings looking to him as the eldest to guide them, Matt needs to regain control of his life. He also needs to find a wife in just thirty days, or risk losing it all. Plain but practical, Hannah Foley seems the perfect bride for him until after the wedding night.

Their marriage may make all the sense in the world, but neither one anticipates the jealousies that will result, the treacherous danger they’re walking into, or the wildfire of attraction that will sweep over them, changing their lives forever.

A Kingdom of Flesh and Fire: A Blood and Ash Novel by [Jennifer L. Armentrout]

Release date : Tuesday 1st September 2020

Price (UK £) – £5.99

Amazon Link : HERE

Status on the TR list : I have not read this series. In fact, I didn’t even know it existed. I will be picking it up now though … sounds fun.

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Jennifer L. Armentrout comes a new novel in her Blood and Ash series…

Is Love Stronger Than Vengeance?

A Betrayal…

Everything Poppy has ever believed in is a lie, including the man she was falling in love with. Thrust among those who see her as a symbol of a monstrous kingdom, she barely knows who she is without the veil of the Maiden. But what she does know is that nothing is as dangerous to her as him. The Dark One. The Prince of Atlantia. He wants her to fight him, and that’s one order she’s more than happy to obey. He may have taken her, but he will never have her.

A Choice….

Casteel Da’Neer is known by many names and many faces. His lies are as seductive as his touch. His truths as sensual as his bite. Poppy knows better than to trust him. He needs her alive, healthy, and whole to achieve his goals. But he’s the only way for her to get what she wants—to find her brother Ian and see for herself if he has become a soulless Ascended. Working with Casteel instead of against him presents its own risks. He still tempts her with every breath, offering up all she’s ever wanted. Casteel has plans for her. Ones that could expose her to unimaginable pleasure and unfathomable pain. Plans that will force her to look beyond everything she thought she knew about herself—about him. Plans that could bind their lives together in unexpected ways that neither kingdom is prepared for. And she’s far too reckless, too hungry, to resist the temptation.

A Secret…

But unrest has grown in Atlantia as they await the return of their Prince. Whispers of war have become stronger, and Poppy is at the very heart of it all. The King wants to use her to send a message. The Descenters want her dead. The wolven are growing more unpredictable. And as her abilities to feel pain and emotion begin to grow and strengthen, the Atlantians start to fear her. Dark secrets are at play, ones steeped in the blood-drenched sins of two kingdoms that would do anything to keep the truth hidden. But when the earth begins to shake, and the skies start to bleed, it may already be too late.

Internship with the Devil (Shut Up and Kiss Me Book 1) by [Jaqueline Snowe]

Release date : Tuesday 1st September 2020

Price (UK £) – £3.49

Amazon Link : HERE

Status on the TR list : This is a new author to me but I LOVE the premise. I will be marking it as TR and looking at some reviews.

Grace Turner scores the opportunity of a lifetime interning with an Ex-NFL player. But working under Brock Anderson turns out to be the job from hell.

The hometown hero turned athletic trainer has a reputation as the best in his field, but his volatile personality makes working with him miserable.

Despite the animosity between them, he’s highly respected in his field and interning under him could mean everything for her career.

The long days, longer nights, injuries, and busses filled with smelly athletes are the easy part.

The biggest battle is the unwarranted attraction to Brock that she can’t seem to shake.

But as Grace spends more and more time with her brooding boss, she uncovers that his abrasive nature is deep rooted in his grief—something she’s no stranger to.

The glimpses of the man beneath the harsh exterior Brock presents to the world leave Grace conflicted in her feelings for him. As the internship draws to a close, Grace is faced with a choice that could set her future on an entirely new course. 

If you like Meghan Quinn, L.J Shen, and Kendall Ryan, you’ll love this sexy boss contemporary romance!

Honeysuckle Season by [Mary Ellen Taylor]

Release date : Tuesday 1st September 2020

Price (UK £) – £3.29

Amazon Link : HERE

Status on the TR list : I haven’t heard of this author before – it sounds like a book that may be hard to read. I will be marking this as TR and seeing what the reviews are like.

From bestselling author Mary Ellen Taylor comes a story about profound loss, hard truths, and an overgrown greenhouse full of old secrets.

Adrift in the wake of her father’s death, a failed marriage, and multiple miscarriages, Libby McKenzie feels truly alone. Though her new life as a wedding photographer provides a semblance of purpose, it’s also a distraction from her profound pain.

When asked to photograph a wedding at the historic Woodmont estate, Libby meets the owner, Elaine Grant. Hoping to open Woodmont to the public, Elaine has employed young widower Colton Reese to help restore the grounds and asks Libby to photograph the process. Libby is immediately drawn to the old greenhouse shrouded in honeysuckle vines.

As Libby forms relationships and explores the overgrown—yet hauntingly beautiful—Woodmont estate, she finds the emotional courage to sort through her father’s office. There she discovers a letter that changes everything she knows about her parents, herself, and the estate. Beneath the vines of the old greenhouse lie generations of secrets, and it’s up to Libby to tend to the fruits born of long-buried seeds

Release date : Saturday 6th September 2020

Price (UK £) – £2.99

Amazon Link : HERE

Status on the TR list : I love this cover and I always enoy this author. On the list.

“If I don’t have you after that kiss,
I’ll burn to dust from the inside out…”

Aspiring fashion designer Adelaide Song wants to prove she’s more than just a pampered heiress. All she needs is the help of Michael Reynolds, her childhood crush and her brother’s best friend. But when her secret crush turns into an illicit liaison, Adelaide realises mixing business with pleasure spells trouble for all her plans…

Comments are always appreciated :)