New Romance Releases 6th – 12th Sept : Nix’s Top Picks.

Posted September 6, 2020 by Nix in Top Picks / 0 Comments

Top Picks is a weekly meme that I do here at Scorching Book Reviews.

In this post, I highlight the Romance books that I want to read that are released this week. I have been lazy of late with not going past Tuesday – that has changed and I now look for books up to Sunday.

They are all books on my TR pile and only books I am interested in spending money on. I do not ask people to recommend books or highlight releases for author promo. I research each book before it I put it on here to look for reviews, series connections and author bio.

I feel I have to point out that books in a series are only going to be featured on here if I have started the series or am interested in doing so.

I don’t read NA. I do not read reverse harem. I also do not read Pandemic romance.

I also don’t recommend books from authors who have engaged in awful behaviour or have bigotted views – I chose not to give them my money so you won’t find them on here. If I make a mistake and feature an author who is an awful person, tell me in the comments and the book will be removed.

I have made the decision to add amazon links and links to twitter profiles on this post however they are not affiliant links as I CBA with amazon.

Don't Hex and Drive (Stay a Spell Book 2) by [Juliette Cross]

Status on the TR list : I have book one in the series and I keep meaning to read it. This is on the list – I will put book one further up the TR list.

Date of release : 8th September

UK Amazon link : HERE

Price – Free on Unlimited or £3.99

Notoriously bad at peopling, Isadora Savoie spends most of her time in the greenhouse or at the local animal shelter, using her Conduit powers of growth and healing. Content to remain in the background of the Savoie sister shenanigans, she’s reluctantly roped into the mystery of missing neighborhood girls. Now, she’s partnered with a flashy, flirty vampire to find them before it’s too late.

Devraj Kumar has seen and done it all. Three hundred years roaming the earth as a Stygorn—a legendary vampire warrior who operates in the shadows—has its perks. But ennui has set in. That is, until he has a run-in—literally—with an intriguing witch while on a new assignment in New Orleans. Fascinated by her resistance to his charms, Devraj can’t help but push her buttons in an effort to get to know the shy witch. Fortunately for him, she’s been recruited by the Lord of Vampires to assist Devraj on the case.

Between a Bollywood marathon, supernatural dating app, secret package, and sexy driving

Her Big City Neighbor (Cider Bar Sisters Book 1) by [Jackie Lau]

Status on the TR List : I love Jackie Lau’s work. On the TR list.

Date of Release : 8th September 2020

Amazon UK buy Link : Link

Price : £2.99

When small-town engineer Amy Sharpe inherits a house in Toronto, she decides it’s the perfect opportunity to start over and go back to school. Away from the family that takes her for granted, away from the ex who expected so much and gave little in return.

The new Amy enjoys wandering around the city and frequenting bubble tea shops, German beer halls, dim sum restaurants, and coffee bars serving Japanese pastries. She has a roommate with the same name as her favorite fictional character, and a group of friends who meet at a cider bar every couple of weeks.

The new Amy is also in lust with her brooding, tattooed next-door neighbor, Victor Choi, who is far from friendly but looks really hot cutting the grass without a shirt. Too bad the grass doesn’t grow faster.

As she starts telling him about her daily adventures—and as a little kissing in the garden becomes a regular activity—Amy begins to feel more than lust. But she fears she’s falling into her old patterns in relationships and refuses to let herself be underappreciated again.

Must Love Dogs...and Hockey by [Kelly Jamieson]

Status on the list : Love Kelly Jamieson and I love books with dogs in it … on the TR list.

Release date : 8th September 2020

Amazon UK link : HERE

Price : £3.49

Lilly: My life is like the love child of a train wreck and a dumpster fire right now. I’ve been canned, my professional reputation is shredded, and now I’m walking dogs to make ends meet.

But I still believe everything will work out. Somehow.

Then a dog at the park attacks my friend’s dog. At first, I’m ready to give the owner hell—but it turns out he’s in desperate need of doggie daycare. I figure, why not? I love dogs and I need the cash.

Too bad his cocky bad boy attitude annoys me. He’s too damn cute for his own good. And I’m not talking about the dog.

Easton: My coach is riding my ass and I’m not handling it well. When I’m saddled with an abandoned pooch, my teammate thinks a dog will keep my temper in check. I think I have enough problems already.

But when my new dog gets into a tussle that leads me to meet a smoking hot chick who knows how to handle the rascal, I start to think pet ownership isn’t all bad. At least it gives me an excuse to see Lilly again. . . .

Neither of us are interested in a relationship. First they steal your bed, then they steal your heart. And I’m not talking about the dog.

Awkward Love (Stumbling into Love Book 2) by [Riley Hart ]

Status on the TR List : This one has rave reviews and looks so cute. MM Virgin hero who buys a man at auction…

Release date : 7th September 2020

Amazon UK link : HERE

Price : Free on KU unlimited or £3.81

Jameson
Being a twenty-two-year-old virgin was not on my list of life goals. I don’t know how it happened. Well…I never date, dedicate all my time to college, and I’m awkward with a capital A around hot guys–okay, so I know exactly how it happened. When my best friends come up with a plan to make the most of this summer before grad school, I’m all for it. That’s how I end up at a charity bachelor auction, bidding on a date I hope will help me toss this V-card out the window.

What could possibly go wrong?

Will
Life is good. I love my new job as PA to the owner of a major production company. Being a prize in a charity auction and scoring the highest bid? Icing on the cake. Now I get to be the date of the most adorable, rambling, bow-tie-wearing grad student I’ve ever seen. Seriously, I can’t be within ten feet of this guy without a smile on my face. When he slips that he’s looking for a summer fling to experiment with, I’m game. Jameson is so different from anyone I’ve hooked up with before, so completely himself, I’m immediately smitten.

Oh, and did I mention we find out he’s my boss’s son?

Between keeping our fling-turned-relationship a secret from his dad and another little familial bombshell that gets dropped in our laps, I’m quickly learning that love is a whole lot more complicated than I thought.

Shadows in Death: An Eve Dallas thriller (Book 51): An Eve Dallas thriller (Book 48) by [J. D. Robb]

Status on the TR list : I’m so behind on this series I don’t know if I will ever catch up .. that being said, I will keep trying. It’s too expensive at the mo …

Release date : 8th September 2020

Amazon UK link : HERE

Price : £9.99

Lt. Eve Dallas is about to walk into the shadows of her husband’s dangerous past.

As it often did since he’d married a cop, murder interrupted more pleasant activities. Then again, Roarke supposed, the woman lying in a pool of her own blood a few steps inside the arch in Washington Square Park had a heftier complaint.

When a night out at the theatre is interrupted by the murder of a young woman in Washington Square Park, it seems like an ordinary case for Detective Eve Dallas and her team. But when Roarke spots a shadow from his past in the crowd, Eve realises that this case is far from business as usual.

Eve has two complex cases on her hands – the shocking murder of this wealthy young mother and tracking down the shadow before he can strike again, this time much closer to home. Eve is well used to being the hunter, but how will she cope when the tables are turned? As Eve and the team follow leads to Roarke’s hometown in Ireland, the race is on to stop the shadow making his next move . . .

Show Me (Irresistible Husband) by [Sharon C Cooper]

Status on the TR List : I have never read this author before but this has caught my eye. I like the sounds of the blurb … the cover is so romantic.

Release date : 10th September 2020

Amazon UK link : HERE

UK Price : £2.29

Just when he thought finding a wife was out of his reach… 

Colton “Cole” Eubanks is laser-focused on building wealth and settling down with a special woman before he turns forty. Accomplishing one out of two isn’t bad. Unfortunately, there’s no ‘love of his life’ on the horizon, unless he counts the one woman who’s been starring in his nightly dreams—Malaya Radcliff. 

After being dependent on other people for years, Malaya has finally learned to stand on her own. There’s only one thing she hasn’t been able to accomplish—gain full custody of her daughter. Her ex-husband never fights fair. His wealth always wins. This time Malaya’s determined to come out on top. 

So when Cole, the man she’s been secretly in lust with for over a year, makes her an offer she’d be crazy to refuse, Malaya wants to say yes. But that means sacrificing her newfound independence. Yet, his enticing proposal has her thinking—why not? 

*Also check out the other two books in the series: 
DO ME by Sheryl Lister 
LOVE ME by Delaney Diamond

Do Me (Irresistible Husband) by [Sheryl Lister]

Status on the TR list : I love the sound of this book – again, a NTM author but I think I’m sold. On the list.

Release date : 10th September 2020

Amazon UK Link : HERE

Price : £2.29

Staring forty in the face, Braxton Harper is accustomed to having everything in his life fall into its precise place. Only he hasn’t found that special one and he refuses to settle for anything less than a woman who is his perfect match. The moment Londyn Grant dances into his life, Braxton is convinced he’s found her. Kiss by sizzling kiss, the sexy doctor slowly lets her guard down. Now, if she’d only let him into her heart…

Londyn knows heartbreak. By day, the psychologist counsels others, but she has yet to find a way to heal her own heart. The last thing she wants is another relationship. However, sensual and sensitive Braxton tempts her to open up and, for the first time in her life, she’s letting passion rule. But it’s going to take a little therapeutic intervention—in and out of the bedroom—to get Londyn to see that this time she’s found the real thing.

*Be sure to read the other books in the series:

SHOW ME by Sharon C. Cooper
LOVE ME by Delaney Diamond

Love Me (Irresistible Husband) by [Delaney Diamond]

Status on the TR list : Love Delaney Diamond’s work …this is on the top of the list.

Release date : 10th September 2020

Amazon UK Link : HERE

Price : £2.29

Hard-working corporate attorney Axel Becker has tried settling down in the past, but when the relationship didn’t work out, he focused on his career to the exclusion of everything else. Enter, Naphressa St. James. The sexy project manager is a former lover and reminds him of what his life could be—fun, exciting. She’s just the woman he might need to shake him out of a rut, but convincing her they belong together will be a lot harder than he expected.

Naphressa admits she and Axel have chemistry, but she’s not interested in getting married again. Been there, done that. Except the more time she spends with Axel, the more she finds the idea of settling down with him to be downright…irresistible.

Read the other books in the series!
SHOW ME by Sharon C. Cooper
DO ME by Sheryl Lister

The Sea Witch (Wicked Villains Book 5) by [Katee Robert]

Status on the TR list : I will read a book based on an erotic retelling of a Little Mermaid … I just will.

Release date : 7th September 2020

Amazon UK link : HERE

Price : £4.99

Once upon a time, I met a man who stole my heart.

In my desperation to reunite with him, I have nowhere to turn but the Sea Witch. Ursa is as beautiful as she is dangerous, and the one person my father warned me never to let close. But she’s all crimson lips and pretty lies, and I’m convinced despite my fear.

It’s a simple enough plan, if not for the faint of heart. An auction to sell the one thing I possess of any value—myself. The money will free Alaric and then we can finally be together.

Except nothing is simple at all.

Ursa is playing at games I can only begin to comprehend. And Alaric? The man I thought I loved might be just as much a villain as the woman I can’t help but be drawn to.

When playing in the darkest depths of love and lust, it will be everything I can do not to drown.

Content Warning: Emotional/financial parental abuse (father)

The Dating Itinerary by [Brooke Williams]

Status on the TR list : I will wait for some reviews on this one as the premise sounds great!

Release date : 7th September 2020

Amazon UK link : HERE

Price : £3.06

As if it wasn’t bad enough to be deemed the “most single person” at her magazine’s office, budding reporter Penny has now been tapped to write a series of features called “The Dating Itinerary.” From speed dating to Tinder, old-fashioned matchmakers to up-and-coming “dark dating,” Penny now has to go on a lot of dates. Silver lining: meeting new people should be fun, right? But running into her old rival, George, at her first dating event is decidedly not. Not only does the arrogant know-it-all have zero trouble attracting women, wherever Penny goes, somehow he just. Keeps. Showing. Up.

Geo knows he’s right on the cusp of writing success with the chance to have his own syndicated column. All he has to do is follow his agent’s ideas for showcasing different dating avenues, and he’ll pull in enough to help his sister’s non-profit women’s shelter get off the ground. Sure, his itinerary is starting to look strangely similar to his old rival Penny’s, but all’s fair in love and syndication, right?

The more they look for love in all the wrong places, though, the more they start to wonder if it was right in front of their noses all along. Still, the brutal dating scene just might end them, if these two don’t kill each other first.

Comments are always appreciated :)