11 Feb '19

Hot Cover Monday : Jaguar’s Mate by Katie Reus

I LOVE this cover … helps that the book sounds fun too…. She’s not looking for a mate… Sapphire is cursed. Every relationship she’s ever been in has ended poorly. So she’s sworn off relationships and is happy with her life. Until Eli comes along—a one-night stand that turned into more. When things got too intense, she did what she always did. She ran. He’s not letting her get away… This time Eli isn’t letting Sapphire go without a fight. When her friend needs help escaping an abusive situation, he steps up, no questions asked. It doesn’t matter that Sapphire won’t tell him why she’s holding back from him. He’s a jaguar shifter and cats are very patient—he’ll wait for his mate to come around. But before he can claim her once and for all, they’ll have to deal with an angry bunch of shifters who are out for blood. Length: NOVELLA

11 Feb '19

Romance Preview Post 10th Feb ’19 : Releases from Penny Reid & Carly Phillips

Romance Preview Post 10th Feb ’19 : Releases from Penny Reid & Carly Phillips

Top Picks is a weekly meme that we do here at Scorching Book Reviews. In this post, I highlight the Romance books that I want to read that are released this week. They are books on my TR pile and only books we are interested in spending money on. I feel I have to point out that books in a series are only going to be featured on here if I have started the series. I do like the majority of Penny Reid’s books – I think her later books are fab and I’ve reread them. This is on the list. One week.Home alone.Girl genius.Unrepentant slacker.Big lie. What’s the worst that could happen? Mona is a smart girl and figured everything out a long time ago. She had to. She didn’t have a choice. When your parents are uber-celebrities and you graduate from high school at fifteen, finish college at eighteen, and start your PhD program at nineteen, you don’t have time for distractions outside of your foci. Even fun… Keep Reading »

07 Feb '19

PNR Review Post : Bear Meets Girl by Shelly Laurenston (5* Stars)

PNR Review Post : Bear Meets Girl by Shelly Laurenston (5* Stars)

Bear Meets Girl by Shelly Laurenston Published by Kensington Publishing Corporation on 2015-09 Pages: 400 Format: eBook Goodreads Amazon US • Amazon UK • He’s big, burly, and way smarter than your average shapeshifting bear. He’s also about to get trapped by own his game. . . Lou Crushek is a reasonable, mellow, easygoing kind of guy. But once someone starts killing the scumbags he works so hard to bust, that really gets under his fur. Especially when that someone is a curvy she-tiger with a skill set that’s turning Crush’s lone-bear world upside down–and bringing his passion out of hibernation. . . As a member of an elite feline protection unit, Marcella Malone has no problem body-dropping anyone who hunts her kind. But Crush is proving one major pain in her gorgeous tail. The only reason she’s joined forces with him is to track down the wealthy human who’s got her entire species in his ruthless sights. It sure isn’t because Crush’s stubborn and contrary attitude is rubbing Cella… Keep Reading »

04 Feb '19

Hot Cover Monday : Planned Seduction by Jess Dee

Hot Cover Monday : Planned Seduction by Jess Dee

He has a offer she can’t refuse Daniel Tanner’s been in love with Amy since they were teenagers, and he’s tired of being seen as the proverbial best friend. If she would only give him a chance to show her how good they could be together, that giving in to the fiery attraction between them won’t burn up and ruin their friendship. Amy Morgan has had a front row seat to the parade of women coming in and out of Daniel’s life for years, and she’s not interested in risking their friendship for something that would eventually end in heartache. And that’s how it would end, because if Amy’s learned anything in life, it’s that men leave. She couldn’t handle having her heart broken by her best friend, even if the promise of untold passion is keeping her up nights. But no one knows Amy better than Daniel, and he’s devised a plan to show her they can have it all.

03 Feb '19

Romance Preview Post 3rd Feb ’19 : Releases from Jessie Mihalik, Stacey Kennedy, Jen Davies & Katee Robert

Romance Preview Post 3rd Feb ’19 : Releases from Jessie Mihalik, Stacey Kennedy, Jen Davies & Katee Robert

Top Picks is a weekly meme that we do here at Scorching Book Reviews. In this post, I highlight the Romance books that I want to read that are released this week. They are books on my TR pile and only books we are interested in spending money on. I feel I have to point out that books in a series are only going to be featured on here if I have started the series. I adore this book. It will be getting 5 Stars. It is like a cross between Farscape & Kill-joys, with a strong, fallible heroine on a mission to stop an impending war. A very strong debut from this author. I’ve pre-ordered it from audible – first time I’ve ever done that. A space princess on the run and a notorious outlaw soldier become unlikely allies in this imaginative, sexy space opera adventure—the first in an exciting science fiction trilogy.In the far distant future, the universe is officially ruled by the Royal Consortium, but the High… Keep Reading »

28 Jan '19

Hot Cover Monday : Brick by Jen Davies

Hot Cover Monday : Brick by Jen Davies

Such a pretty cover…. look all the tattoo’s and muscles! I’m used to getting my hands dirty. During the day it’s mud and grime on the construction site. At night…it’s the blood I spill. A drug lord’s enforcer does what needs to be done. It’s my obedience, my loyalty to the boss that keeps my family alive. I know I’m teetering on the edge. I’m losing my humanity, I can feel it. It’s changing me, and it’s only a matter of time before the darkness takes over.Then I meet her. Liv. The only person who sees past my busted knuckles and brutal exterior. She sees…me. But being with me will get her killed. The only way I can keep her safe is by staying away. Until her own actions catapult her into the center of my world—a world which will swallow her whole. Now I’m forced to be the ruthless bastard I’ve been for so long. Only this time it’s not to destroy…but to defend.

27 Jan '19

Romance Preview Post 27th Jan ’19 : Releases from Cherise Sinclair, Jenny Holiday & Shannon Stacey

Romance Preview Post 27th Jan ’19 : Releases from Cherise Sinclair, Jenny Holiday & Shannon Stacey

Top Picks is a weekly meme that we do here at Scorching Book Reviews. In this post, I highlight the Romance books that I want to read that are released this week. They are books on my TR pile and only books we are interested in spending money on. I feel I have to point out that books in a series are only going to be featured on here if I have started the series. Cherise Sinclair is Auto-try for me – I loved the prequel to this series and, although I am unsure as to how this will go, I am looking forward to trying it. Pre-ordered. In the Alaska wilderness, four streetwise boys became men—and brothers Now the crazy ex-military survivalist who plucked Gabriel and three other boys from an abusive foster care home has died. But the sarge leaves them a final mission–to revive the dying town of Rescue.  Gabe is done with being a hero. Wounded in body and soul, the retired SEAL simply wants to… Keep Reading »

21 Jan '19

Hot Cover Monday : Don’t Go There by Missy Johnson

Hot Cover Monday : Don’t Go There by Missy Johnson

Look at this pretty cover… Never read this author though! Vodka should come with a warning: Mixing with Karaoke will make you do stupid shit, like sing that song you wrote when you were fourteen, about the boy who broke your heart. At least he didn’t see it. Oh wait. He did. I should’ve just stayed home. The only reason I came was to stop Lily from doing something stupid, like crash her ex-boyfriend’s wedding. When I open my hotel room door to find Adam standing there, that sexy smirk tells me he’s hasn’t changed. He’s still the same arrogant asshole who made my childhood hell. He insists on driving us home, and while he’s the last person I want to be around, he and I both know it’s a bad idea for Lily to be anywhere near that wedding. I’m on the road trip from hell with my heartbroken cousin, and the one guy I can’t stand. What was I thinking?

20 Jan '19

Romance Preview Post 20th Jan ’19 : Releases from Jill Shalvis, Carrie Ann Ryan & Gina L. Maxwell

Romance Preview Post 20th Jan ’19 : Releases from Jill Shalvis, Carrie Ann Ryan & Gina L. Maxwell

Image Copyright Protected from Pin Up Toons License details on the tab above Top Picks is a weekly meme that we do here at Scorching Book Reviews. In this post, I highlight the Romance books that I want to read that are released this week. They are books on my TR pile and only books we are interested in spending money on. I feel I have to point out that books in a series are only going to be featured on here if I have started the series I adore the series – I cannot wait for this book and have pre-ordered it…. I want Sadie’s book! The seventh in New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis’s Heartbreaker Bay series, featuring her trademark gift for humour, warmth and romance. Perfect for fans of Jill Mansell, Debbie Macomber, Nora Roberts and Marie Force. If you’re planning on falling in love you’d better be sure someone is there to catch you… When it comes to the confident, charismatic Caleb Parker, Sadie Lane… Keep Reading »

16 Jan '19

Review Post : The Governess Game by Tessa Dare (4 Stars)

Review Post : The Governess Game by Tessa Dare (4 Stars)

The Governess Game by Tessa Dare Published by HarperCollins on 2018-08-28 Genres: Historical, Romance Pages: 384 Format: eBook Goodreads Amazon US • Amazon UK • He’s been a bad, bad rake—and it takes a governess to teach him a lesson The accidental governess. After her livelihood slips through her fingers, Alexandra Mountbatten takes on an impossible post: transforming a pair of wild orphans into proper young ladies. However, the girls don’t need discipline. They need a loving home. Try telling that to their guardian, Chase Reynaud: duke’s heir in the streets and devil in the sheets. The ladies of London have tried—and failed—to make him settle down. Somehow, Alexandra must reach his heart… without risking her own. The infamous rake. Like any self-respecting libertine, Chase lives by one rule: no attachments. When a stubborn little governess tries to reform him, he decides to give her an education—in pleasure. That should prove he can’t be tamed. But Alexandra is more than he bargained for: clever, perceptive, passionate. She refuses to see… Keep Reading »